Hurstpierpoint Tennis Club’s Bedford Cup won by former chairman

Alan Bedford and Diana Jenkins . 2015 Bedford Cup winners
Alan Bedford and Diana Jenkins . 2015 Bedford Cup winners
Have your say

In 2013 the Hurstpierpoint Tennis Club Committee decided to name its annual mixed doubles handicap Cup after former chairman Alan Bedford.

On Saturday Alan, with partner Diana Jenkins, won the the third running of the Bedford Cup named after him, beating Becky Taylor and Joel Kalani in the final.

The competition gives each pair a handicap depending on their normal level so strong team players might start 40-0 down against a social pair. In the final, Alan and Diana started each game 15 -0 up against the higher ranked Becky and Joel.

Sue Hastie and Steve Lewis won the 3rd place final, beating current chairman Toby Lott and Vicky Parish.

Twelve pairs participated and there was a good turnout of spectators followed by a family barbecue.

Alan Bedford said: “ It was a bit embarrassing winning the cup the committee named after me, but it was great fun and my partner Diana playing in her first club tournament played really well.”

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!