Talented young guns return with trophy

Burgess Hill took two U12 girls teams to Eastbourne on Sunday, when the A team lifted the Ron Easton Memorial Trophy.

Keeper Emily Philpott did not concede a goal in seven matches, six of which were won outright, while the semi final against Horsham went to penalties. The winning squad also comprised Grace Vans Agnew (capt), Zara Ewen, Jenny Chee, Claudia Thornton, Derval Branagan, Laura Clarke, Sophie Binns and Olivia Gunn.

Team B was made up of Year 6 girls and so they did well against older opposition. Amy Gallahawk starred in a squad of Ella Chesseman, Tia Homer, Olivia Gunn, Sophie Binns, Lucy Jurkowski and Sophie Maguire.