East Grinstead paired with Uckfield in Parliamentary boundary review proposals

East Grinstead and Uckfield have been paired together as part of changes being proposed in a Parliamentary boundary review.

Tuesday, 8th June 2021, 10:55 am
East Grinstead (Photo from Google Maps Street View)

Currently East Grinstead is part of Mid Sussex and Uckfield within the Wealden seat.

But today the Boundary Commission for England (BCE) has released initial proposals today for the public to have their say.

They include a new East Grinstead and Uckfield seat also covering Ditchling, Plumpton, Isfield, Chailey, Newick, Wivelsfield, Crawley Down, Scaynes Hill, Ardingly, Balcombe, Handcross and Pease Pottage.

The Hailsham and Crowborough constituency would include Heathfield and Wadhurst.

Meanwhile the Lewes constituency would gain Laughton, Upper Dicker, Jevington, Wannock, part of Willingdon, Stone Cross and Hankham.

The Commission is required to ensure that the number of electors in each constituency is more equal; in doing so, the number of constituencies in England will increase from 533 to 543.

The Commission is undertaking an independent review of all constituency boundaries in England and will present its final recommendations to Parliament by July 2023.

Members of the public are encouraged to visit www.bcereviews.org.uk to view maps showing the proposed new boundaries and provide feedback before the consultation closes on August 2.

People can comment on anything from where the proposed new boundary lines are to the names of the constituencies.

There will be a further two rounds of consultation in 2022.

Following the conclusion of all three consultation periods, the Commission will look at all the evidence received before forming its final recommendations.

Tim Bowden, secretary to the Boundary Commission for England, said: “Today’s proposals mark the first time people get to see what the new map of Parliamentary constituencies might look like.

“But they are just the Commission’s initial thoughts. Help us draw the line to make the number of electors in each Parliamentary constituency more equal. Each constituency we recommend is required by law to contain between 69,724 and 77,062 electors, meaning there will be significant change to current boundaries. We want to hear the views of the public to ensure that we get the new boundaries for Parliamentary constituencies right.”