Burgess Hill Town celebrate incredible season with awards night

Andy Pearson with manager Ian Chapman
Andy Pearson with manager Ian Chapman
  • Pearson wins trio of awards
  • Chapman wins Special Achievement award
  • Luer returns to present club with his first Football League shirt

Burgess Hill Town FC rounded off their incredible season with their annual awards night at The Green Elephants Stadium last Friday.

The Ryman South champions have enjoyed probably their best season in the Club’s history after winning the title, remaining unbeaten until March and enjoying fantastic runs in the FA Cup, FA Trophy and Sussex Senior Cup which saw memorable wins over Sutton United and Aldershot.

The Club has grown not just on the pitch but off the pitch as well with crowds up by an incredible 60%, a new stand behind the goal and further improvements have been put in place for works to be carried out in the Summer.

Proud Chairman Kevin Newell said a few words before the awards were presented which saw Andy Pearson make a clean sweep of the first team awards.

The defender who joined the Hillians from Lewes last summer has enjoyed a great first season making 59 appearances in all competitions and walked away with the first team player of the year, players player of the year and supporters player of the year.

Manager Ian Chapman and General Manager John Rattle presented all the players with their League medals as well as a DVD of the famous 1-0 victory over Aldershot in the FA Trophy from earlier in the season.

Greg Luer, with the Hull shirt he presented to the club, with manager Ian Chapman

Greg Luer, with the Hull shirt he presented to the club, with manager Ian Chapman

Hull City striker Greg Luer, who signed for the Premiership Club from the Hillians in January, was present at the evening and he presented the Hillians with his first senior shirt, framed from his loan spell at League One side Port Vale.

Neil Wheeler’s Under 21’s saw Matt Morrish pick up the Under 21 player of the season whilst Keelan Cuncliffe won the U21’s players player of the Year.

The Youth Team, who finished runners up after another great season in the Ryman Youth League, saw Guy Bolton win the youth player of the year whilst players player went to Lucas Franzen-Jones.

The Youth players were also presented with their league runners up medals by manager Paul Armstrong and assistant Ian South.

Roger Puttick deservedly collected the Jack Lake Clubman of the Year Shield for all his work not just on matchdays but all through the week with his tireless work looking after the pitch.

The final award was won by Ian Chapman. He got the biggest cheer of the evening when he picked up the John Buck special achievement award after masterminding Hillians’ season.