Cawthra leads Burgess Hill Runners home at Cranleigh plus club’s annual award winners

The Blue Army pouting at the Cranleigh 15/21 IUWLfgjPQiv_F161nXBL
The Blue Army pouting at the Cranleigh 15/21 IUWLfgjPQiv_F161nXBL

Cranleigh was the main destination for the Burgess Hill Runners last weekend.

With a 15 mile and 21 mile option available, it often becomes the race of choice for those training for the upcoming marathons. Leading the club home in the 15 mile variant was Matthew Cawthra (2:08:49).

Richard Copeland proud of his medal at Eastleigh msHe2S8YM5xj_OhC1Hj7

Richard Copeland proud of his medal at Eastleigh msHe2S8YM5xj_OhC1Hj7

Oliver Dewdney and Caz Wadey were close behind in 2:08:49 and 2:47:04 respectively. Alison Dunks was the first BHR to finish in the 21 mile event with a superb time of 2:57:20. She was followed by Jay Wadey (3:10:50), Neil Dawson (3:17:58) and Nick Dawson (3:19:53).

Four of the club’s runners took part in the undulating Hastings Half Marathon. James Sorbie was first club member home in 1:38:40, followed by Owain Powell (2:04:00), Hannah Watkins (2:27:00) and Anita Harris (2:27:05).Kirsty Armstrong was the 1st female at the Balcombe Bull Run and 11th overall with a time of 34:35. Richard Copeland completed his first 10k in a time of 1:02:47 at the Eastleigh 10k.

The club also held their annual awards ceremony last Thursday.

The winners were:

Junior Academy Performance - Alfie Geere

Junior Academy Most Improved Runner - David Burke

Junior Academy Coaches’ Award - Abbey Trotter

Black Cap Handicap - Kevin Walker

Back Caalf Trophy - The Craigs Family

Social Award - Helen Pratt

Committee Award - Andy Sayers

Chairman’s Award - Jay Wadey

Fun Run Champion Male - James Sorbie

Fun Run Champion Female - Fay Robers

Spirit of the WSFRL - Malcolm Slater

Daytime Group Most Improved Runner - Tracey Golbey

Daytime Group Coaches’ Award - Jacqui Sims

Hazel Holmes Shield - Jane Harle

Beginners/Improvers Coaches’ Award - Vanessa Corrick

Coaches’ Award (Most Improved Runner) - Gary Foley

Coaches’ Award - Neil Grigg

Club Championship Male - James Collins

Club Championship Female - Sharona Harrington

Male Senior - James Collins

Male Vet 1 - Gary Woolven

Male Vet 2 - Simon Thompson

Male Vet 3 - John Palmer

Male Vet 4 - Andy Sayers

Male Vet 5 - Nigel Cruttenden

Male Vet 6 - Stuart Condie

Male Vet 7 - Malcolm Slater

Female Fsenior - Hannah Watkins

Female Vet 1 - Sharona Harrington

Female Vet 2 - Emma Buckland

Female Vet 3 - CatheQrine Kempton

Female Vet 4 - Linda Russell

Female Vet 5 - Sue Lyle

Female Vet 6 - Jenny Nicoll

Don’t miss out on all the latest breaking news where you live.

Here are four ways you can be sure you’ll be amongst the first to know what’s going on.

1 Make this website your homepage

2 Like our Facebook page at

3 Follow us on Twitter @SportSussex

4 Register with us by clicking on ‘sign in’ (top right corner). You can then receive our daily newsletter AND add your point of view to stories that you read here.

And do share with your family and friends - so they don’t miss out!